US Open bosses issued a statement to explain a bizarre malfunction during Naomi Osaka’s defeat to Amanda Anisimova. The latter battled back from a set down to secure a 6-7 7-6 6-3 victory and book her place in Saturday’s final.

The end of the first set was disrupted by an unusual problem with the electronic line calling system. Osaka sent the ball hurtling towards the baseline but ‘out’ was signalled before it had even bounced. Even though the call was premature, it proved to be correct and Anisimova was awarded the point.

Afterwards, the US Open issued a statement to explain the technological error and give the reason why the point was not replayed. It read: “The electronic line calling live system made an errant call.

“Upon reviewing the point, the chair umpire and the review official determined that Osaka’s shot was long and that the timing of the errant call did not impact the point. As a result, Anisimova was awarded the point.”



By Tom Parsons

Source link